New Collaboration: A Red Tree

January 18, 2013 § Leave a comment

A Red Tree

Photographs by Adrienne Pike Adelphia

Story by Eric M. Martin

IMG_0393

You asked me in late summer.

The last firefly was long gone. I think it was a week after we had a little party where we used the left over sparklers. We weren’t doing anything again until the holidays, I mean, we had no plans. No more camping. No more barbeques. The sparklers were the last fizz on the summer champagne or whatever.

IMG_0394You had asked me before, but I didn’t want to. I don’t know why, but the idea of going fishing just didn’t appeal to me. It still doesn’t appeal to me.

Why would I want to sit in a boat for hours and put nasty worms onto hooks just to catch something I’m going to throw back? I just don’t get it.

“We don’t have to use a boat,” you said. “We can fish from the promenade.”

“The what?”

“There’s a little, like, micro-dock behind every cabin. We can take the dog and you and me can go sit on the promenade and do some relaxing fishing.”

“Don’t call her the dog” I said. “When did you want to go?”

“Soon. It’ll be too cold before too long. I think we should make a reservation for one of these cabins and go in a few weeks.”

Then you showed me pictures of the place on their website. With such an empty autumn staring us in the face I thought we might as well.

Read more. (click for full story)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Collaboration: A Red Tree at euclid's negatives.

meta

