Have I Been Where I’m Going

September 1, 2014 § Leave a comment

Have I Been Where I’m Going –  a Euclid’s Flash

Story by Eric Martin 

Images from Wikimedia Commons

My phone went off. I shut down the alarm.

            I heard the quiet then. At first I thought I had gotten up too early. It was too quiet. Then I went to the bath room and turned on the shower. I shaved as I waited for the water to heat up.

            Then it came to me.

            I was dead.

            I was living in the afterlife.

            I thought – this is what it’s like to be dead. Quiet. So quiet, but you keep doing what you’re doing. You shave and you take a shower and you go outside and get into your car and drive to work.

            File:Empty Streets - geograph.org.uk - 642089.jpgNo one is there. The streets are empty. There is no one at the office. No one in the café. You’re alone in the afterlife. Utterly alone in the quiet of a world that looks and feels exactly the same as it did in life.

            Nothing is changed.

            It’s not so bad, really.

 

 

 

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Have I Been Where I’m Going at euclid's negatives.

meta

